School Support Services

Lara Baker

K-3 Early Literacy Coach
517-417-8114 | lara.baker@lisd.us

  • Provides job-embedded professional learning in the areas of literacy and GELN's Essential Practices

Ruth Benge

K-3 Early Literacy Coach
517-467-8114 | heather.hartwig@lisd.us

  • Provides job-embedded professional learning in the areas of literacy and GELN's Essential Practices

Heather Hartwig

K-3 Early Literacy Coach
517-467-8114 | ruth.benge@lisd.us

  • Provides job-embedded professional learning in the areas of literacy and GELN's Essential Practices

John Hill

Math Curriculum Consultant / MTSS Coach
517-265-1605 | john.hill@lisd.us

  • Consults with local districts in mathematics professional learning, including:
    • Early Mathematics
    • Elementary Mathematics
    • Secondary Mathematics
  • Consults/Coaches in Multi-Tiered System of Supports (MTSS)
  • Consults with local districts in physical education professional learning
  • A facilitator of new teachers professional learning
  • Consults with local districts in STEM professional learning education, including:
    • Project Lead the Way (PLTW)
    • Ten80 Education
  • Consults with local districts in educational technology in areas of math
  • Consults with local districts in online education

Brian Jones

Curriculum Consultant
517-266-6988 | brian.jones@lisd.us

  • Supports local districts in school improvement reporting and processes
  • Administers the Michigan Profile for Healthy Youth (MiPHY)
  • Leads the Multi-Tiered System of Supports (MTSS)
  • Systems Coach

Linda Knape

STEM Program Coordinator
517-265-1624 | linda.knape@lisd.us

  • Provides instructional programs for the Stubnitz Environmental Education Center
  • Co-Coordinates environmental field trips for elementary learners at Stubnitz
  • Assists with Tri-County Science and Technology Fair
  • Coordinates the Tri-County Elementary Science Olympiad

Amanda Morris

Curriculum Consultant
517-266-6983 | amanda.morris@lisd.us

  • K-12 Literacy Consultant and Facilitator
  • Provides job-embedded professional learning in the areas of literacy and GELN's Essential Practices
  • Facilitator of the Lenawee District Coaches Network
  • Chair of the Cradle to Career Reading by Third Grade Network

Kerry Nieman

Stubnitz Environmental Education Program Coordinator
517-265-6691 | kerry.nieman@lisd.us

  • Develops & implements programs at the Stubnitz Environmental Education Center
  • Co-Coordinates environmental field trips for elementary learners at Stubnitz
  • Coordinates MS/HS environmental programs to promote real-world application and stewardship
  • Supports teachers in moving students outside for engaging learning in all curriculum areas

Karen Rayner

Coordinator - Instructional Data Services
517-265-1606 | karen.rayner@lisd.us

  • Supports local districts with data processes, analysis and action planning
  • Manages data services for Lenawee County including but not limited to:
    • Illuminate DnA
    • MiSchoolData
    • MiMTSS Data System
  • Assessment coordinator for LISD and supports Local District Assessment coordinators
  • Provides Data Coaching Services

Ann Smart

Educational Technology Consultant
517-920-1714 | ann.smart@lisd.us
@AnnSmart17

  • Passionate about educational innovation, maker-centered learning, student-centered learning, and classroom technology integration
  • Believes that every child should be able to inquire, create, innovate, and play, every day
  • Provides professional development in the following areas:
    • STEAM or Maker-centered learning
    • Technology integration and resources
    • Innovative teaching strategies
    • Google training for staff and students
    • Learning spaces
  • Serves local districts and non-profits through REMC Association of Michigan services

Jenny VanDaele-Coury

Science Curriculum Consultant
517-265-1687 | jenny.vandaele-coury@lisd.us
@vandaelej

  • Coordinates the Tri-County Science Fair
  • Supports science learning across the county
  • Provides job-embedded professional learning opportunities, especially around integrating literacy and science instruction
  • Provides individualized support for districts and teams
  • Works to bring collaboration among educators and local business/industry leaders

Julie Burkeen

PL Center Coordinator/Manager
517-265-1611 | julie.burkeen@lisd.us
LISD PL Center Facebook page
@LISD_PL_Center

  • Facilitates LISD Professional Learning training
  • Contact for State Continuing Education Credit Hours (SCECHs) and Teacher Certification

Samantha Sexton-Berger

PL Center Secretary & Registrar
517-265-1619 | samantha.sexton-berger@lisd.us
LISD PL Center Facebook page
@LISD_PL_Center

  • Manages Wisdomwhere online registration website
  • Supports LISD Professional Learning training
  • Oversees purchasing and invoicing for School Support Services Workgroup